President Barack Obama has issued a disaster declaration to portions of Middle Tennessee affected by flooding and high winds

-NAS-HICKMAN DAY 2-002.JPG_20140610.jpg
President Barack Obama has declared portions of Middle Tennessee affected by flooding and straight-line winds in June as disaster areas.
Obama issued a disaster declaration Tuesday that allows federal funding to be sent to state and local governments in areas affected by the storms, according to a White House news release.
From June 5 to 10, a series of storms that produced heavy rain and high winds swept through the state, including several counties south of Nashville.
Three people died after being swept away by floodwaters in Hickman and Lawrence counties. A tornado was reported in Obion County in West Tennessee.
Midstate counties eligible for federal disaster aid are Hickman, Houston, Lawrence, Maury and Perry. In East Tennessee, the counties are Anderson, Bledsoe, Marion, Roane and Sequatchie. In West Tennessee, they are Carroll, Decatur, Henry, Madison,and Tipton.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: